College of Medicine Alumna and Student Receive Lyman T. Johnson Awards

Congratulations to a College of Medicine alumna and student who were recently honored during the 2019 Lyman T. Johnson Awards Banquet.  

Ima Ebong, MD, '11, assistant professor of neurology and clinical neurophysiology, was honored with the Lyman T. Johnson Torch of Excellence Award. The award is presented annually to an African-American alum whose faith, hard work and determination has positively affected the lives of people on the UK campus, the city, state or nation.  

Third-year medical student Ochuko P. Diamreyan Jr. received the Lyman T. Johnson Torch Bearer Award. This award honors an African-American student for academic achievement and ability to impact the lives of others.

The awards ceremony was part of the 2019 Lyman T. Johnson Homecoming Celebration and hosted by the UK Alumni Association Lyman T. Johnson African American Alumni Group. For more information on the Lyman T. Johnson awards banquet, visit