Alpha Omega Alpha National Medical Honor Society

The UK College of Medicine would like to congratulate to following students, faculty, and residents who were recently inducted in the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) National Medical Honor Society. Induction into AOA is a high honor, recognizing students not only who have had high academic achievement, but who have also demonstrated excellence in class leadership and service, community service and engagement, and scholarship and research endeavors. Only one in six of any medical school class achieves AOA induction. The AOA Induction Banquet was held on February 15 at the Hilary J. Boone Center.

The UK chapter of AOA met this past week and selected Junior students into AOA. These students will serve as the Executive Board for our chapter for 2018-19 academic year (other students from the Class of 2019 will be elected later this summer).  

These students are:

  • Mary Boulanger
  • Elliott Campbell
  • Michael Koenig
  • Mary Nakazawa
  • Sibi Rajendran
  • Sreeja Sanampudi
  • Megan Stout
  • Lindsay Westerfield
  • Doug Zoerner

When you see these students, please congratulate all of them on this high honor indeed!
In addition, our chapter can select 3-4 faculty and 3-4 residents for induction into AOA each year. Selected this year were:

  • Henry Vasconez, MD, Plastic Surgery
  • Jonathon Bronner, MD, Emergency Medicine
  • Cecil Peppiatt, MD, Hospice and Palliative Care
  • TJ Lile, MD, internal Medicine/Pediatrics


  • Michael Gleason, MD, Emergency Medicine
  • Dorothy “D.D.” McCord, MD, Internal Medicine/Pediatrics
  • Mauricio Villamar, MD, Neurology